Closes at
See all

Matthew Brennan wins Stage 8, Jarno Widar wins the Giro Next Gen 2024


Jarno Widar (Lotto Dstny Development Team) has won the Giro Next Gen Carta Giovani Nazionale, wearing the final Maglia Rosa of the General Classification leader. Pablo Torres (UAE Team Emirates Gen Z) and Pau Martì (Israel Premier Tech Academy) finished second and third.


1 – Jarno Widar (Lotto Dstny Development Team)
2 – Pablo Torres (UAE Team Emirates Gen Z) at 52″
3 – Pau Martì (Israel Premier Tech Academy) at 58″

Speaking seconds after the finish, the winner of the Giro Next Gen Jarno Widar said: “It’s incredible to win the Giro NextGen. My team has been fantastic today again. I have no words to describe what they have done for me. They’ve done 99.5% of the work. It’s crazy. I’ve been worried by the breakaway riders. At the end I pulled because we also wanted to win the stage. I’ll come back to the Giro NextGen for sure next year to defend the title. It’s a beautiful race”.

The leader jerseys of the Giro Next Gen Carta Giovani Nazionale are designed and produced by ALE’

  • Maglia Rosa, leader of the General Classification, sponsored by Mimit – Ministero delle Imprese e del Made in Italy – Jarno Widar (Lotto Dstny Development Team)
  • Maglia Rossa, leader of the Points Classification, sponsored by Velux – Paul Magnier (Soudal Quick-Step Devo Team)
  • Maglia Azzurra, leader of the Gran Premio della Montagna (KOM), sponsored by Banca Mediolanum – Lorenzo Nespoli (Team MBH Bank Colpack Ballan)
  • Maglia Bianca, Best Young Rider, sponsored by Suzuki – Jarno Widar (Lotto Dstny Development Team)
  • Maglia Tricolore, leader of the Italian Riders Classification, sponsored by RCS Sport for Aido – –  Florian Samuel Kajamini (Team MBH Bank Colpack Ballan)


Matthew Brennan (Team Visma | Lease a Bike Development) has won Stage 8 of the Giro Next Gen Carta Giovani Nazionale, the 137km long Cesena-Forlimpopoli. Niklas Behrens (Lidl-Trek Future Racing) and Luca Paletti (VF Group-Bardiani CSF-Faizanè) finished second and third respectively.

1 – Matthew Brennan (Team Visma | Lease a Bike Development) – 137 km in 3h16’16”, av speed 41.881 km/h
2 – Niklas Behrens (Lidl-Trek Future Racing) s.t.
3 – Luca Paletti (VF Group-Bardiani CSF-Faizanè) s.t.

Speaking seconds after the finish, the stage winner Matthew Brennan said: “It’s really good to finish off the Giro NextGen this way after the hiccups our team had in this race. Today it was one of these stages you look at the course and you realise it won’t be a bunch sprint. We outnumbered the other teams in the breakaway and that made the difference. I owe a big thanks to my team-mates. It’s nice to show that I can perform on the eighth day of racing. It’s good for the future I think”.

Follow us
on social media
# GiroNextGen
top sponsor
official partners
institutional partners
official suppliers